New Electrical Regulations.
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Andrew Betteridge
Apprentice
Apprentice

New Electrical Regulations.

Post by Andrew Betteridge » Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:05 pm

I am an Electrician who came across this Site whilst searching for some information, having looked through the Forum and some of the advice given in the articles, I have to break the News to you that some of the advice and information on this Site will become oboslete and incorrect on the 30th June 2008, when all new Electrical work will have to comply with the new 17th Edition of the Requirements for Electrical Installations BS7671:2008 published on the 1st January 2008.

Also Part P of the Building Regulations and Notification of certain Electrical Work to the Local Council has been Law now for several years resulting in some hefty fines of £4000 to £1600 beening imposed on people who have broken these Laws.

I have taken and passed the new City and Guilds Qualification for the 17th edition of the Wiring Regulations and know from this that in future every job will have to be assessed individually as to how compliance with the regulations can be acheived.

In Domestic properties the main changes are that in future every Plug Socket will have to be protected by a 30mA RCD, as will vitually every Cable buried in a Wall. this is because people are to be protected from their own carelessness.

One of the downsides to this is if you have had a new Split Load Consumer Unit fitted where some Circuits are not protected by the 30mA RCD or you do not have a RCD fitted at all, you may have to upgrade the Consumer Unit before altering or extending the Electrical Installation, (fitting one RCD upfront for the whole House may not comply with the Regulations).

Manufacturers are starting to produce Consumer Units with two RCD's and RCBO's will become common.