All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
tcwh1971
Apprentice
Apprentice

New type of Cistern?

by tcwh1971 » Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:42 pm

Hi everyone,
I joined in the hope somebody can help me out here, so here goes...
I was recently at B&Q looking into buying a new toilet, or ideally a new cistern. I intend to install myself as a sort of project so I'm new to this.

I understand the mechanics of a toilet: you have an overflow pipe; the water flow from the cistern and lastly, the water pipe which fills the cistern after each flush. (I won't include the screw holes, obviously.) I was looking at what looked like a new type of cistern, and discovered it only has two main holes: the water flow pipe in the middle and what I thought to be an overflow pipe as it was on the left (aren't all overflow pipes on the left of a cistern?) It also had a single button flush on top.

Anyway, I came away thinking why has it only got two holes? The shop assistant didn't seem to know much about it. Then I thought I remember seeing something about a built in overflow system thing on the box which presumably would make the over flow pipe redundant? I'm assuming that all water pipes that fill the cistern on flushing are always on the right, as it has to come from somewhere. If I bought this cistern I just want advice and want to double check that I would obviously have to connect a flexi pipe to the copper water pipe allow me to extend the connection to the cistern on the opposite side? I'm curious to know if that is the correct procedure to follow and can anyone offer any further help on this. Many thanks!

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:44 pm