Outside security light
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Dava8345
Labourer
Labourer

Outside security light

by Dava8345 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:02 am

I'm not an electrician but fitted an outside security light & it will not work. I tapped into an existing twin earth cable that feeds the landing and lounge lights.

The security light looked pretty strainght fwd to wire up. I put brown to live, blue to neutral and green/yellow to earth..but no joy

The only time that the security light will come on, is when I switch the landing light on from downstairs and then switch off the landing light upstairs....both the landing and security light will then start to flicker ! so I have to turn the landing light off downstairs to switch both the security light and upstairs light off.

Any help much appreciated

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

by ericmark » Sun Apr 18, 2010 4:45 pm

I would guess you have connected to switch cable not supply cable. In which case the black wire (or blue) will not be neutral but switched Line. So with one switch arrangement the two lights will be in series.

HeWhoWalksAmongUs
Apprentice
Apprentice

by HeWhoWalksAmongUs » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:07 pm

From the description above you have tapped into the worng wires.

As well as that I would imagine the flickering is either from the brown and blue having 240V and hence not enough potential differnece to power the light.

Or you have a dimmer switch which causes a buzzing and flickering with energy saving bulbs.

Dava8345
Labourer
Labourer

by Dava8345 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:46 am

Thanks for the advice guys..

Could you let me know what it is I need to do, as I am not electrically minded.......In ley mans terms please :-)