oval conduit and dot'n'dab
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ozmondo
Labourer
Labourer

oval conduit and dot'n'dab

by ozmondo » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:51 pm

Hi there.
I'm about to start wiring a house we're building. I'm not an electrician but am ok with most things. I've got someone lined up to inspect and test everything i do aswell so we should be safe!

Here's my question: someone just told me I can run cables in oval conduit on my walls and still dot'n'dab over them - no chasing required. Is this true? I can't help thinking there'll be bulges above all my sockets!!
This would save a truck load of chasing work.

ericmark

by ericmark » Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:55 pm

House wiring has to be registered with building controls. There are two ways to do this, either direct or by using a clearing house and becoming registered. The latter needs the registered person to sign all parts of the certificate which they are only allowed to do if they complete the work in total that’s design, installation and inspection and testing. If the work is split then the registration can’t be used and it all has to go direct through building control and even if you want to on a new house no real way to avoid it. If you are skilled to an acceptable level in design and installation then your question seems a little odd, but I will try and answer.
• If you use singles then these need mechanical protection and where conduit is used it must be continuous which is hard to do with oval conduit one would normally use round.
• Where flat twin cables are used there is no need for protection although it is common to use capping or oval conduit to reduce the risk of being caught by a plasters trowel.
• Some materials may react with each other and sometimes PVC cables are protected from polystyrene using capping or conduit.