Pergola Structural Strength
Ask questions and find answers on all your decking problems and issues

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
craigfarrall
Apprentice
Apprentice

Pergola Structural Strength

by craigfarrall » Mon Apr 18, 2022 12:51 pm

I have recently built out a decking and pergola area in my garden. I must caveat this by saying I am a complete novice DIY'er, but like to get involved.

I have attached a few photos of how this looks currently - but I have concerns about the top bit with the rafters from a structural perspective. As you can see, I have used the timber on the outside of the posts (that were concreted in) using carriage bolts. In retrospect, I would have done this differently and maybe cut a piece out at the top of the post, so that those sit on top, instead of to the side to make it even more secure (hope that makes sense) - however I am reluctant to pull all of this down, especially having to take out all of the nails from the joist hangers.

So even though I could / should have done this differently if I was doing this again, my question is what I can potentially do based on what I have currently. A few ideas that I have thought of are:

Adding further posts that are concreted into the ground at the back only. Obviously I wouldn't want to do this at the front, as I naturally want to keep the big opening as currently.
    Adding triangular corner pieces. Not sure how I would this exactly, with the timber beams being outside of the posts, but I see quite a lot of pergolas doing this. I am personally not a huge fan of how this looks, but if it helps structurally then I am willing to do it.
    Not sure if this will work, but adding another set of timber beams below the ones currently set up around the whole perimeter, which are attached to the posts - not sure if this will help at all though