PLANNING PERMISSION FOR A HAND CAR WASH SITE
If you want to know how your DIY projects could be affected by building and planning regulations, click here to post questions and view answers

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ignomony_46
Labourer
Labourer

PLANNING PERMISSION FOR A HAND CAR WASH SITE

Post by ignomony_46 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:31 pm

Dear D.I.Y doctors.

I am new to planning permission and I am worndering if someone could assist in answering the following question ? It would be greatly appreciated.

I am just in the process of applying to my local council for planning permission in order to run a hand car wash. We have carried out a few tests on site but I am hearing so many horror stories about the council rejecting permission mostly for hand car washes due to poor drainage, traffic and no provisions in place to recylce water, noise nuisance e.t.c
what do they mean by recycling water ? Do they mean oersonally working out a system to recylce my water usage ?

This is a basic outline of my particlaur site

I have a small building with sufficient parking for 6 cars
The site is located by a main road but outside the town centre with no schools located nearby and situated around 400 yards back from the main road - there is no chance the water can escape onto the footpath or the road.

Possible problem 1. We wash the cars in q side peice of land which is adjacent to our small building, 2 storm water drains and one foul drain. The foul drain is simply covered by a manhole cover which we have drilled holes into. The drain off water produced from our work tends to run into the storm drain due to the level of the ground - i take it this will be a major setback for us ?

Possible Problem 2. Sometimes we wash the cars away from this peice of sideland and we wash on a car park peice of land, the water from this simply soaks into soil which is part of our land - will the council see this as a problem ?