Radiator layout question....
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
BrokenMan
Labourer
Labourer

Radiator layout question....

by BrokenMan » Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:23 pm

Hello everyone!

I am having a problem in understanding the best way to lay out my central heating system so that all the radiators will heat up correctly. I have checked numerous books, schematics and posts on various forums and they all seem to either be different or miss out the detail I am looking for! I apologise in advance if I don't use the the correct terms but I'm sure you have guessed I'm not a GCH engineer!

I have a gas combi boiler which has a separate hot water and dual pipe central heating circuit (Feed and return for one circuit of central heating). I intend to plumb in the radiators in parallel to each other off of a manifold as is depicted in this [url=https://www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects/centralheatingsystems.htm]double pipe system.[/url] There will be an upstairs loop and a downstairs loop which will be split from the boiler for the feed (hot in) and the return (hot out).

My question is how do I plumb in the FINAL radiator in EACH loop of my circuit? Series or parallel? Do I plumb them like in the picture from the above link where the final rad is part of the circuit or with the loop continuing to join the feed and return lines?

Some schematics show the final radiator in series, the hot water flows in to the rad and then the hot water out of the rad goes to the return line. If you do this will you not choke the return of hot water to the boiler? Other schematics show the final rad in parallel so that hot water in goes to the rad and the loop continues round where it joins the hot water out from the same rad and then the loop becomes the hot return to the boiler.