DIY Doctor

Replace Honeywell wireless thermostat with Heatmiser rf

Postby Marrisdj » Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:31 pm

Hi

I want to have Remote control of the heating only in my holiday home so am planning to replace my existing Honeywell wireless Thermostat and receiver with a Heatmiser wireless thermostat and RF switch.

The Honeywell receiver is wired as per the photo with Brown to Live, blue to Neutral, Grey to A and Black to B

Any advice on how to wire in the Heatmiser RF switch will be gratefully received

Thanks

Dave
Attachments
67641C48-7F86-425E-AEAC-F5F82ED642C1.jpeg
67641C48-7F86-425E-AEAC-F5F82ED642C1.jpeg (20.42 KiB) Viewed 231 times
Marrisdj
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
50%
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:02 am


Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Mr White » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:42 pm

A connection diagram of your new stat would be useful.
Mr White
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
54.2%
Posts: 771
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm


Postby Marrisdj » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:06 am

Hi Mr White

Good shout ... here is the Heatmiser wiring diagram ... I only want to connect heating ... thanks

Dave
Attachments
ED20E517-C1DE-4E6C-8DFC-8EF2828B4C23.png
Marrisdj
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
50%
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:02 am


Postby Mr White » Tue Jun 02, 2020 6:01 pm

You connect your new stat the same way your one is now.

Brown to Live
Blue to Neutral

Grey to com1
Black to NO1
Mr White
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
54.2%
Posts: 771
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm


Postby Marrisdj » Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:41 am

Thanks Mr White, appreciate you taking the time to reply

Dave
Marrisdj
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
50%
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:02 am


Postby Bluecollie » Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:44 am

Hi, I have similar setup as this the only difference is Black is A & Grey is B on Honeywell. So Black to Com1 and Grey to No1 on Heatmiser RF?
Bluecollie
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
50%
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:34 am


Postby ericmark » Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:34 pm

I fail to see and earth wire in the existing thermostat wiring, I know Nest say the earth is only required when the thermostat is powered from the heat link, but the British Standard BS 7671 since 1966 has required that an earth wire is run to all installed equipment even if not used, before 1966 there was an exception for lights.

I have looked for the double insulated sign, and can't see it, it is unlikely to be a problem, or danger, unless the property is rented, in which case the EICR could show a C2 due to no earth, personally I would not worry but it is up to the inspector.

I say this as may be better to mount near the boiler now with new cable than have to do job twice is some inspector fails it.

It would seem the CH and HW connections are not used with a combi boiler, just the LS LR N E L. So Black, Grey, Blue, Green/yellow or bare sleeved green/yellow and Brown.

The literature on website says very little, in my old house we had an open plan and an old gas boiler with no modulation controls and this unit would work well, but if the boiler can modulate and is the condensing type, then it is important the thermostat does not use mark/space to stop hysteresis. It will work with the mark/space controls, but not efficiently.

I had this problem with mothers house some one had fitted wrong type of thermostat, with for example Nest it works out at what point to switch off so the stored heat in radiators will get room to correct temperature without over shooting, or it can also connect with opentherm and turn boiler up/down rather than on/off. But cheaper thermostats turn the boiler off/on repeatedly as it approaches the target temperature which is all well and good with non modulating boilers, but with modulating it causes the boiler to restart at full output each time so more energy is lost through the flue.

It may seem odd, but for a modulating boiler either very cheap or very expensive thermostats work well, it is the middle range which cause the problem.

Since I have Energenie MiHome TRV heads I can see the temperature of rooms independent to Nest, so I know Nest geofencing is working, however since I am not there when it turns off and then back on, other wise I would not know if it worked automatic without my needing to go onto some web site to manually alert it.

My daughter tells me her system will turn off with phone, but she has to manually go into an app to do it. If it was me I would forget.

So would like a report on how well the Heatmiser works, as at £42 it is very cheap, and would consider fitting it to our flat.
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Llanfair Caereinion, Mid Wales.


Postby Bluecollie » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:48 am

Thanks for your reply, there is a earth cable terminate in the box so connect to the heatmiser earth terminal . The Black & Grey to LS &LR ?
Bluecollie
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
50%
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:34 am



Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides
  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


 
  • Related Topics