Replacing a 3 wire stat with a 2 wire Sunvic TLX4101
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
dazbear
Labourer
Labourer

Replacing a 3 wire stat with a 2 wire Sunvic TLX4101

by dazbear » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:02 pm

Now please be gentle with me as a newbie here.

I have replaced an old 3 wire mechanical room stat with a new 2 wire Sunvic 4101. I looked on here and it seemed easy enough - bascially leave the neutral out of the equation. Trouble is - it isnt working!

When you turn the knob you can hear it click and you then hear the pump kick in, but the boiler doesnt fire.

We do have heat in the morning, but I have a feeling this is due to the boiler kicking in to heat the hot water. During the evening (hot water off) no heat at all.

This is how it is currently wired

1 = call for heat (yellow)
2 = com (red)
3 = heat satisfied (empty)

Blue/Neutral has been blocked and left out of the equation.

What am I doing wrong? Freezing here

Thanks
ps - simple answers please

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

by plumbbob » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:19 pm

Erm, nothing. Your wiring is correct, and as the pump is starting, this means the stat is working. You need to look at the boiler itself to see what is wrong.

dazbear
Labourer
Labourer

by dazbear » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:53 pm

ok

I have synced the times of the hot water and the CH on the timer, so we are getting heat morning & night.

But is not controllable - the STAT may start the pump at the "click" but doesnt regulate the temp.

You say it may be the boiler? Any ideas?

Thanks

Darre

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

by plumbbob » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:54 pm

It's a bit difficult to be more precise as you don't mention what type of system you have and all are wired differently.

Old gravity systems needed the hot water on before the heating would operate.