Replacing the insulation on a Rangemaster oven
Help, advice and problem solutions on all aspects of home appliances from washing machines to TV's

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
phil999123
Labourer
Labourer

Replacing the insulation on a Rangemaster oven

by phil999123 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:28 am

Hi there,

I have a rangemaster double oven and underneath the smaller of the ovens a mouse has got into the insulation and made the smaller oven smell really bad. The mouse is no longer with us, thankfully, but the smell of the insulation is still really bad. I think I can jack the oven up to get at the insulation below but I'm concerned that maybe the mouse hasn't limited itself to one small area and would prefer to replace the whole insulation wrap, if possible.

Does anyone have any experience of replacing the insulation on a rangemaster and if so please could you tell me how much work is involved (and any tips if you remember how you did the job)? The rangemaster website has a spare wrap for £16 but unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a repair or service manual available (at least I've not found one yet).

Many thanks for any advice / pointers...

:-)

AndrewD
Labourer
Labourer

Replacing the insulation in a Rangemaster oven

by AndrewD » Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:57 pm

I've got exactly the same problem (Mouse in the insulatin). Did you sort it ? If so how ?

phil999123
Labourer
Labourer

Re: Replacing the insulation in a Rangemaster oven

by phil999123 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:04 am

AndrewD wrote:I've got exactly the same problem (Mouse in the insulatin). Did you sort it ? If so how ?

I downloaded the service manual which had instructions on removing the panels and then, from what I remember, I did the following:

Switched cooker off and isolated it completely from the mains (isolating both live and neutral).
Pulled cooker out into centre of room
Removed bottom panel (along the front)
Removed long bar along top/front of cooker
Removed all dials