Router Tools
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
skittles
Labourer
Labourer

Router Tools

Post by skittles » Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:25 pm

I have a router, but never used it!

I need to put some hinges on some new doors and need handles. Googling I note there ae templates and router tools for such jobs

Anyone used them or recommend anything

Its a DIY job so nothing for like £100 please

sweetorb
Tradesman
Tradesman

Post by sweetorb » Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:55 pm

hi skittles

u could go 2 screwfix or wherever and buy a hammer and a 1" chisel for under £20..??!!

just an idea..

mark

skittles
Labourer
Labourer

Post by skittles » Sun Sep 06, 2009 4:09 pm

[quote="sweetorb"]hi skittles

u could go 2 screwfix or wherever and buy a hammer and a 1" chisel for under £20..??!!

just an idea..

mark[/quote]

ta for the idea, its a good one but I am not that good with chisels and wondered if the router route would be easier

jackthebuilder
Tradesman
Tradesman

Post by jackthebuilder » Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:31 am

Hi Skittles

Good for you for wanting to have a go. Even if you get a template, which I understand can be very expensive, you'll need to practise first.

Don't expect to switch on and get a perfect job first time, and make sure that anything you are routering - practise or not - is well secured or clamped to stop it jumping around - that's half the battle in my experience.

And make sure your depth stop adjustment is correctly secured!

If you practice routering various shapes and depths, you'll quickly get an idea of whether you really have the knack for this sort of work or not. If you're really not comfortable with it, then the chisel isn't a bad idea - keep it sharp, take it easy, and remove little bits at a time.