should I have walls skimmed or can I just paint plaster.
General decorating topics, questions and answers. find help, tips and advice on completing your decorating projects

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
fandangojones
Labourer
Labourer

should I have walls skimmed or can I just paint plaster.

Post by fandangojones » Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:57 pm

Hi. I am new to decorating and would be really greatful for advice.

I have just stripped the wallpaper from my lounge walls and was hoping to paint the plaster which is about 100 years old.

How do you know when you really need to skim the walls to get a reasonable finish. To me my plaster looks quite good but has hairline cracks pretty much all over. They really are just very thin cracks though and you cant even get a fingernail into them.

Will these be hidden by a good matt paint or do I run the risk of it looking awfull when finished.

I like the idea of keeping the old plaster and dont really like very smooth walls.

What are my options.

Thanks.

Dan the man
Ganger
Ganger

Post by Dan the man » Sun May 02, 2010 10:07 pm

Try painting a small wall and see what it looks like, a light rub with sandpaper is always good to do before you paint to get any small bit of paste and paper off, and use a good roller not a cheap one because cheap rollers leave bits on the wall and when it dries you can see them in the light. hair line cracks will always come back through but you will only notice them on close inspection!

seymour2902
Labourer
Labourer

Post by seymour2902 » Thu May 06, 2010 4:18 pm