Single pipe system - flushing
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
JaneR
Labourer
Labourer

Single pipe system - flushing

by JaneR » Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:38 pm

I would like some advice if possible, as I'm no expert on central heating but feel I've been ill advised.
I had a new boiler installed Mar/Apr this year by a Gas Registered plumber only because of it's age, otherwise the whole system was working. The hot water system was working fine but the central heating wasn't used until October. When it was switched on the central heating, the radiators downstairs were cold, but the rads upstairs were warm but not hot. I contacted the boiler installer who came out & suggested my pipes needed replacing due to them being a 'single-pipe' system and would never be any better. He didn't mention that there could possibly be a problem with the boiler.

I also had a 2nd opinion from British Gas as I have an insurance policy with them. They suggested a £700 power flush but they couldn't guarantee the problem would then be sorted. They couldn't look at the boiler as it was under warranty.

So I went with the new pipes. I was quoted £780 for new pipes, but £1780 for new rads as well as pipes. As you can imagine, the disruption was horrendous as I have 3 bedrooms with laminate flooring. A friend of mine kindly agreed to lift the flooring & relay it so the plumbers wouldn't be responsible as I had a feeling they weren't carpenters!