Solar Thermal Panels but are Evacuated Tubes or Panels Best?
Find help, tips and information on renewable energy sources such as solar, wind etc.... and also alternative energy & heating production.

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
SassyR
Labourer
Labourer

Solar Thermal Panels but are Evacuated Tubes or Panels Best?

by SassyR » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:45 pm

I'm thinking about having solar thermal panels installed on my home, to try and save some money on hot water. Does anyone have some clear answers to the following questions...
. Are evacuated tube or flat plate panels better - as I have read that there are two types?
. How likely is it that this system can save me money in the long term?

(Not too many technical terms please I am an absolute beginner in this area)

Thanks

JesspA
Labourer
Labourer

Re: Solar Thermal Panels but are Evacuated Tubes or Panels Best?

by JesspA » Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:52 pm

Hi SassyR,

There are now a range of solar hot water systems that could be deemed more efficient than solar thermal.
I actually work for a company that supplies solar assisted heat pumps (I don't know if you've come across them yet)? Unlike solar thermal they work day and night in all weather!
We are actually a Business to Business distributor, but feel free to take a look at our system website (solamics.co.uk) - if these were something you thought you could of interest, then feel free to give the team a call, and someone would be more than happy to advise you.
We could also put you in touch with your local installer! .

Hope that helps?

Tall bloke
Apprentice
Apprentice

by Tall bloke » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:38 pm