Sparky Job and qualifications!
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
puttyinyahand
Apprentice
Apprentice

Sparky Job and qualifications!

Post by puttyinyahand » Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:39 pm

Hi Guys, bit of a weird post I know but have used this site for many a job in the past and you all seem to know your stuff so was after some advce if possible!!!
I have been a marine engineer for the last 9 years and as with everything at the moment the luxury boats have dried up!
I have taken on everything you could think of in terms of fitting out, servicing, repairs, electronics etc and touched bases with most trades to do repairs but only very minor.
I am interested in re-training to become a sparky but at the ripe old age of 27 college seems a long distant memory, so heres my question.

The trade skills courses that are run to gain qualifications in such a field are they a. anygood, and b, recognised by professionals to gain a job? I understand that there is no better way of learning than the college courses but I really couldn't afford to do the 3 year thing.

I also understand that experience plays a massive part but didn't want to think I was making a positive step by investing in one of the short intensive courses if they are frownd upon in the industry...

Thanks for your time guys, any help would much appreciated.

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:51 pm

When sparks were in short supply having C&G 2381 now 2382 was enough to get work as a spark. In today’s climate at least a C&G 2391 would be required and one is unlikely to get that without experience.
In 2002 I did three courses that ran concurrently PAT testing, 16th Edition and 2391 one 6 week and two 12 week courses one night a week and 3 hours each night and this cost £40 to £70 each course and allowed me to completely update and be able to fill in the required paperwork.