turning off wather supply
Drainage and wastage systems and plumbing help, advice and answers

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
yvonnepaul
Apprentice
Apprentice

by yvonnepaul » Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:02 am

Hi i'm new to all this DIY, I want to remove an old bath to get the tiles off the wall underneath etc, I know how to turn off the cold water but how do you stop the hot tap with a combi boiler no tank??? Im not planning in installing the new bath yet but need to turn water back on for general use. I thought icould reconnect the taps after and just leave them hanging till its time to put in new bath

help!!!!!

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:20 am

Turning off the mains cold water - will also stop the hot water.

yvonnepaul
Apprentice
Apprentice

by yvonnepaul » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:22 pm

thanks for getting back so fast, i understand that turning off the cold will stop the hot water as well but we need to turn the water back on as we live in our house! can i just add so stop valve things to the end of the pipes where to taps were?????

yvonnepaul
Apprentice
Apprentice

by yvonnepaul » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:24 pm

[quote="htg engineer"]Turning off the mains cold water - will also stop the hot water.[/quote]

but i need to turn water back on as we live in the house we are ripping out, do I just add some kind of stop valves on the end of the pipes after we take out bath??

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:50 pm

Yes, putting the old taps back onto the tap connectors once you have removed the bath - provided they don't leak of course - is the simplest method.

Alternatively a couple of stop ends but you'll have to remove the tap connectors first.

Cheers

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:23 pm

Yes you can just fit ballofix valves or any isolation valve or just a stop end (blank).

yvonnepaul
Apprentice
Apprentice