Very Frustrated by Issues with Mains Gas Pipe and Renovation Gone Wrong
Re-generate an old or tired space and give it a fresh breath of life. Click here for answers, information and tips

kippy-ken
Labourer
Labourer

Very Frustrated by Issues with Mains Gas Pipe and Renovation Gone Wrong

by kippy-ken » Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:27 pm

I don't whether to scream or cry.

We were looking to renovate a maisonette in a Victorian conversion. We were looking to remove a couple of internal walls in the basement to create and open plan area, reverse the staircase and slightly enlarge the the upstairs bathroom, tank a coal cellar making it habitable and creating a small downstairs shower room.

I work in IT and have no experience in building other than a bit of DIY.

We employed a Chartered Surveyor who did design services and came with good recommendations to draw up the plans, deal with planning apps, deal with the tender process, administer the contract etc. We employed a single main contractor who had tendered and the surveyor had worked with on other projects.

The project was to last 16 weeks and we are now at 20 and counting.

A gas pipe was correctly highlighted on the drawings and would need moving as it ran directly across middle of the lower ground floor and restricted head height on the new stairs.

Project started and the initial strip out was completed. This exposed the gas pipe fully and (I now know) showed that it is a gas main, all before my meter, and servicing the other 7 flats in my block.

Work commenced and the gas pipe would need to be moved back a couple of feet to give us the required headroom on the new stairs. Our surveyor correctly noted that Nat Grid would need to move the pipe but stated it wouldn’t delay the contractor who could work around it.

Works continued, beams installed around the pipe, flitch beams installed and new staircase put in, electrics run, ceilings boarded and plastered.