Voltage reduced to zero when load is applied.
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Masheded
Apprentice
Apprentice

Voltage reduced to zero when load is applied.

by Masheded » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:24 pm

Ok here goes,

Whilst doing some diy at a friends house i hit a mains cable feeding the 1st floor lights (i know, no need to say it). The fuse box is of 1960 manufacture if not earlier, and is the sort that takes the bacolite fuse cartridges using fuse wire. I must stress now that i have no electrical knowledge, and other than removing and replacing electical furniture whilst plastering etc i do not intend to undertake any works myself, and would give this advice to anyone with-out training. With that out of the way, i have removed the plaster around the cable and have exposed the damaged section. I have joined the cable using a certified junction box from my local hardware store (the round type), as i feel this is within my capabilities. The cable in question was running to/from a light a switch. It has 4 cores (incl earth). In general, the cable through-out the house is pvc, but it has been added to here and there over the years resulting in a very complex mish mash of cable. I then replaced the fuse wire in the main fuse box which was blown. I turned the lights on and..nothing. 1 light on the 1st floor and 3 lights ont the 2nd floor dont work. As far as i can tell, everything is as it was. I have replaced the bulbs with new bulbs and still nothing. I have checked the light sockets with a neon screwdriver, and they show voltage, but when i turn them on...nothing. I have done all i am prepared to do, and am calling a sparky to take a look. My question is, how serious an amount of damage could have been caused? Is it possible that other cables further on are damaged, or is it likley to be the fuse box damaged. To be fair he needs a new 1 anyway, and i have just plastered 2nd floor, so rer