Wiring advice for new RCD socket please
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
GDOPMOP
Labourer
Labourer

Wiring advice for new RCD socket please

by GDOPMOP » Sun May 10, 2020 6:39 pm

Hi there, this is probably a bit of a silly question but just wondering whether or not the pics look OK for a new RCD socket wiring please?

My concern is with the slightly exposed copper near to the terminals. Especially for the live. As you can tell, I'm new to the electric side of things!

The issue I've got is that the cable is a 2.5mm core cable, which was recommended by a local electrician's retailer but is really thick to work with/manipulate, and the insulation sleeves won't fit inside the terminals.

Grateful for any advice, cheers for reading!

IMG_6515.JPG

IMG_6517.JPG

IMG_6518.JPG

IMG_6519.JPG

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Wiring advice for new RCD socket please

by Mr White » Sun May 10, 2020 10:58 pm

What is it for?
I can see it is an RCD, but what is it for and what is it connected to?

GDOPMOP
Labourer
Labourer

by GDOPMOP » Sun May 10, 2020 11:30 pm

Hi Mr White, thanks for your reply. The other end is connected to an outdoor socket, so it enables me to plug into the mains as and when required. It's just like the one in the Ultimate Handyman's video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYyGpte8QY0

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

by Mr White » Mon May 11, 2020 6:15 pm

So that is an RCD plug?
And you have it running to a socket fixed on the wall? or a socket fixed to nothing?

Picture would be better.

But it sounds like the advice you were given is in error.

GDOPMOP
Labourer
Labourer

by GDOPMOP » Mon May 11, 2020 8:06 pm

Apologies, I may have caused some confusion with the wording in my original query. I've enclosed a couple of extra pics below to show...

1) The plug socket that's fixed to the outside wall - for some reason pic appears horizontally here!