Boiler in Bathroom
Damp can be a major issue in the home. Find answers to questions or post your own here.

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Bighoolio
Labourer
Labourer

Boiler in Bathroom

Post by Bighoolio » Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:03 am

Hi

I have just has a gas safety check done which brought up that my boiler which is situated in my bathroom does not meet current safety standards and needs to be boxed in.

Im no boiler expert, and Im trying to understand why boxing it will will make any difference. Surly the box will have ventilation panels which will allow any fumes to circulate around the bathroom anyway?

Does anybody know what the regulations are?

Thanks for you help.

All the best

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:57 pm

Does it need boxing in for gas or electrical reasons? Electrically everything is in flux which at the moment two sets of regulations which can be used and the bathroom requirements change a lot between the old and new. Zone 3 will be no longer and as a result 3.5 meters from bath to supply sockets has been introduced. Now everything in a bathroom will need RCD protection including the lights. If anything electrical both under old and new needs a tool or a key to gain access it is allowed in areas when otherwise it would not be permitted. There is some interpretation required here and some people feel putting it in a cupboard will all it to be fitted. There is also manufactures instructions and electrically you must follow them so if manufacturer says its not suitable for a bathrooms then you can't fit it even if all else complies. Electrical Inspections are coded 1 meaning dangerous to 4 that means it does not comply with current regulations. There are also lots of old wives tales where some one thought it should not be done but that's got changed in the telling to your not allowed to do that it's against regulations.