ceiling re board paint or plaster first?
Ask your questions and find answers on many subjects relating to plastering and dry lining

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
STEVEH
Apprentice
Apprentice

ceiling re board paint or plaster first?

by STEVEH » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:16 pm

My ceiling in my bathroom is rough , what im going to reboard the old ceiling leaving the old boards up and just putting new plaster board ontop
but im not sure if i need to get it plastered afterwards because of the steam?
or can i just fill the gaps and paint the new boards? will this be ok in a bathroom?

can anyone help? :?

Did it myself
Tradesman
Tradesman

by Did it myself » Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:24 pm

I've just reboarded and plastered my bathroom ceiling (previously rough/artex style). I'm not a professional but I would think your boards will need plastering. Plaster board doesn't like moisture and its rigidity will be compromised I would think? It's worth getting it skimmed. Alternatively, There may be a different type of board to use if you plan to paint it... does anyone know this?

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager

by kbrownie » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:35 pm

Hi, you can do it twos, overboard and plaster or overboard and joint tape, the first option is well know to most DIYers but the second not so, ideally you'd use tapered edged boards generally 8x4 foot (2400x1200) but not a problem with square edges on ceilings. You boards on ceiling should have staggered joints, much like if you was building a brick or block wall.