Completion Certificate woes. (UPDATED)
If you want to know how your DIY projects could be affected by building and planning regulations, click here to post questions and view answers

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
51rider
Labourer
Labourer

Completion Certificate woes. (UPDATED)

Post by 51rider » Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:50 pm

Hi, Newbie here to this forum so be gentle with me!

Long story short, back in '99 I applied for planning permission for a single storey rear exetension, replacement garage and storm porch. Approval was granted in 2000 and Building control made first visit to site in May. it was at this point that I had a run in with Thames water and had to redesign the foundations etc.
The next visit to site was in September and follows a fairly routine pattern with the last visit being 24th January 2001.

Fast foward to last Thursday and the house is finally being surveyed for a sale that has been pending since March & the surveyor asks for the completion certificate. No problem says I blissfully unaware that the final inspection has never taken place and we have no certificate.
The surveyor to his credit could see how irate I was and said not to worry and that 'normal' practice was to get a legal liability insurance policy.
So I did! However, because my buyer does not need a mortgage to purchase, it seems that such a policy would not provide adequate cover-any body heard of this before?

In the meantime I've tried to get somewhere with Building Control & they have been as helpful as a chocolate fireguard. Due to the time frame they are not interested in coming to complete the final inspection and have indicated that it is a matter for the individual inspector-since that inspector has left, I fear I'm up the creek!!