Connecting a cooker hood to an existing socket

Postby Rastanking » Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:49 am

Hi everyone,

I've just installed a cooker hood and am thinking of what to do with the cabling it comes with 13amp plug so can I

Cut the plug off and connect it spur it to the socket or do I have to spur a socket nearer to the hood and connect it to the socket?

Also I have an gas oven and hob can I spur the electric ingnition into an existing socket?

Any help that anyone could give would be appreciated.
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:29 pm


Simply Build It

Postby rosebery » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:08 am


Kitchen is a "special location" under building regulations which means you (or I) can't DIY it unless you've got building control involved first. Best to get yourself an electrican who can self certify. He will advise you.

Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2022
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Postby moggy1968 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:21 pm

I think thats why it comes with a plug. if you can plug it in it doesn't need to be certed
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by

  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


  • Related Topics