Convert 2 gang 2 way light switch to 2 gang 1 way
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Tony1944
Labourer
Labourer

Convert 2 gang 2 way light switch to 2 gang 1 way

by Tony1944 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:04 am

I am replacing all my light switches. There is one by the front door that is a 2 gang switch that controls the light in the hall and an outside light. So it's a 2 gang 1 way switch.

Apparently no one makes these anymore ( at least that's what I've been told) so I've had to buy a 2 gang 2 way switch but I don't know how to convert this to 2 gang 1 way.

Can anyone help?

I am an amateur!
Thanks
Tony

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Convert 2 gang 2 way light switch to 2 gang 1 way

by Mr White » Sat Mar 03, 2018 2:57 pm

I have not heard of a 2 gang 1 way switch, are you sure yours is not 2 gang 2 way, but being used as 2 gang 1 way?

Your existing switch should have markings on the terminals, you connect the new switch the same way the old switch is connected*, and the terminals you do not use / need you just ignore.

The one thing that you should watch for, is some 2 gang 2 way switches, one switch is upsidedown in relation to the other switch. But the terminal labels are correct.

Also if your new switch is metal you must connect an earth wire between its earth terminal, and the earth terminal on the back box.

* Take a clear in focus picture before you disconnect anything.

Tony1944
Labourer
Labourer

by Tony1944 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:34 am

Thanks very much for your prompt reply. My problem is that the new switches do not have the same terminal configuration as the current one. This switch operates two lights independently.

This is the current switch showing the terminal wiring and the other cables, presumably the neutral cables in a connecting block and the earth is connected to the body of the switch.

current switch .JPG

current switch surplus wiring (1).JPG