Door frame Removal


Postby htg engineer » Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:27 pm

I want to remove an internal door frame, which is in a load bearing wall. The opening will be boarded and plastered.

Will I come across any problems, will i need to install anything to support the brickwork above the door frame ?

Thanks htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby carousel88200 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:02 pm

you shouldnt come across any problems at all mate, there should be a timber or concrete lintel above the frame to support the brickwork above so that wont be a problem.

let me know how it goes and if you get any problems feel free to ask me for any help.
carousel88200
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:15 pm


Postby best4doors » Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:41 am

I agree - it should be fairly straightforward, but if doesn't feel right, always ask first! I am happy to give some advice if I can.
best4doors
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:51 am


Postby mark696 » Tue May 25, 2010 7:39 am

Hi,

This is a very tedious procedure to remove the internal door frame, for that work we need to take more care. We have to provide support to the brick before remove the internal structure of the door.
mark696
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:12 am


Postby TheDoctor4 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 8:02 pm

For up to 5 FREE quotes from trusted, vetted and insured tradesmen in your area visit the DIY Doctor Find a Tradesman page: http://www.diydoctor.org.uk/find_tradesmen/
TheDoctor4
Posts: 16777214
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:12 am
Location: Somerset in the UK in Shepton mallet


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics