Electric boiler for hot water supply???


Postby cofotony » Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:26 pm

Hi,

I have just bought a flat but it needs work before I move in and I need some advice. It's a 2 bed place, has one bathroom that needs a complete refurb, and I will be adding one en-suite. Not a new build but all flats in the block have electric underfloor heating - there is no gas supply.

Currently the hot water is provided by an immersion heater alone but I am never around at the same times of day. I don't like the idea of constantly heating a tank of water and not using it, nor fancy running out of hot water mid shower or halfway through running a bath. Also, it would allow me to remove a large airing cupboard which currently takes up a lot of room in the bathroom, so for me it justifies the cost (sure I could relocate the boiler/piping via the kitchen or worst case just downsize the cupboard)?!.

I don't fancy 1 or 2 electric shower units. Would an electric boiler be a possible solution bearing in mind the following:

- It doesn't need to heat the flat as that is covered (would a smaller unit be adequate?);

- Although it will be just me initially, I need to "future proof" the place so have to consider that the hot water output would be adequate to cover powering perhaps 2 showers and a running tap in the kitchen for example;

- Not sure how much pressure I get on the mains water;

Thanks for your time, very helpful site!!!
cofotony
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:20 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:13 pm

try Stiebel Eltron DHC9.0 kW unit, obtainable from say for instance(usual disclaimers)
will need 40Amp supply but so do most single showers now,
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby gc » Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:23 pm

Sorry gc no external links allowed unless we post them. Many people try to use this site for advertising. If they want to advertise they can go through the advertising page on the website.
gc
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:08 am


Postby DONFRAMAC » Tue May 08, 2007 1:16 am

I have 26 years industrial experience of the brand quoted, and we only bought in a replacement unit once (same model). Otherwise it just needed occasional attention from our sparkies-- 3 elements, so 3 fuses in it and 3 contactors. The unit was the only one recommended by Kodak, who made the radiograph processor which depended on it.
DONFRAMAC
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:52 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics