Fitting a replacement ceiling light
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
paul1968
Apprentice
Apprentice

Fitting a replacement ceiling light

by paul1968 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:21 pm

Hi, I'm sure this question has been asked before somewhere but i'm new to this and i've come across a problem....

I've followed the instructions on the site and have got as far as testing the wires to see which one is the circuit. However none register a current so i'm not sure if I am doing something wrong.

I've turned off the light, switched off the power and removed the fuse as directed. There are 3 wires coming from the ceiling each with Live, Nutural and Earth. None are marked, I have tested them several times and no current is registering.

Anyone have any idea's what I may be doing wrong - by the way the circuit tester is brand new so hopefully that is not the problem.

Thanks in advance

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:39 am

O.M.G!

paul1968
Apprentice
Apprentice

by paul1968 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:21 am

[quote="sparx"]O.M.G![/quote]

Is that for me as I have asked a stupid question and should put down the screw driver and back away from the electrics now :) or the situation.

Either way a bit more info please sparx. This is my first house and my first go at something like this. I don't want to blunder into things hence logging on to sites like these and asking for help.

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager

by kbrownie » Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:12 pm

paul1968
You'll have no current or voltage if the circuit is not powered up and you should not be working on a live installation anyway.
Why are you carrying this test out, what are you trying to do or prove?
KB

paul1968
Apprentice
Apprentice

by paul1968 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:22 pm

Thanks for your post Kbrownie, possibly explains Sparx reply!!