Having Problems with Non-Combi Boiler, Pipes and Pump - Help Needed
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

Complete Amatuer
Labourer
Labourer

Having Problems with Non-Combi Boiler, Pipes and Pump - Help Needed

by Complete Amatuer » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:46 pm

Hi,
I am hoping someone can give me some guidance as I am a complete amateur (as the username suggests).
We moved in to a house a year ago and have had no issues with the boiler / heating until now where we seem to be experiencing lots of problems.
We have a boiler in the kitchen (not a combi), a water tank in the airing cupboard and a water tank in the roof so our water (I am told) is gravity fed.
Recently we started hearing loud banging noises in the pipes and I mean really loud banging. To be safe we called out a British Gas engineer as we have the home cover plan but he couldn't tell us the issue and suggested we have the entire system flushed at £700 plus VAT by them or better still buy a new boiler from them! So we changed some settings for the temperature as he suggested that might fix it in the very short term. It seemed to work but then our boiler started making really unusual noises which sounded like a big watch being wound up! Again ,we though lets not take chances (we have young kids) and phoned British Gas. This engineer suggested there was no danger but we should buy a new boiler as it will be needed sooner or later but it will add value to the house anyway!