Installing ceiling light and socket in house extention
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
tom thumb
Labourer
Labourer

Installing ceiling light and socket in house extention

by tom thumb » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:59 am

Hi
I want to install a ceiling light and power socket to a ground floor extention, a task I am more than capable of carrying out myself. But as I understand by law I am not allowed to do this as it is classed as a new building. (I'm not a qualified electrician by the way).
Is there any other way round this. Or do I have no alternative, but to contact an electrician. At the end of the day it's that certificate that I need.

ericmark

by ericmark » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:56 pm

In theory you can still do it. But you must inform building control first and you must be able to complete the installation certificate. The latter is a problem for two reasons.
1. You need to show your skilled enough to do the work.
2. You need test equipment with traceable records.
If you can fill in the paperwork which is not straight forward then building control may consider you are skilled enough but since the test equipment needs traceable records borrowing it from work is not really an option must be all official to be able to access records.