new gas boiler
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
z4ron
Labourer
Labourer

new gas boiler

Post by z4ron » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:58 am

Hi folks, newbie here. Not strictly a DIY question, but still hoping someone can offer advice. I need to replace my current gas boiler, to anyone ufortunate enough to have come across one, it's a Powermax 155, so we don't have a hot water tank at the minute. Property is 5 bedroom, two bathroom, 13 radiators in all. I've have the usual suspects around to give me a quote, British Gas an Npower (expensive, I know), and both suggested a combi boiler (BG = Worcester Greenstar HE 440 , Npower = Vaillant ecoPlus 937). Thought I'd ask a local Vaillant approved installer for a quote and he's completely thrown me. In his opinion, I'd probably be disappointed with the performance from a combi in this size of house. His recommendation is to go for a system boiler and a pressurised cylinder, probably 260 litre capacity. He reckoned this would be more expensive to install, but would deliver must better performance. Anyone any thoughts, or point me in the right direction? TIA

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

Post by sparx » Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:41 pm

Hi as a leckie don't usually say much in this forum but as I get to connect up many boilers for local plumbers I can say that most people are dissapointed with hot water delivery rate at taps, showers etc. as flow slowed down thro' boiler to give time to heat water in heat exchanger,
regards SPARX

dr-plumb
Labourer
Labourer

Post by dr-plumb » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:53 pm

If you have more than one bathroom then a combi isn't the answer. Go for an unvented hot water system as suggested. This would give you mains pressure at the hot taps and plenty of hot water to fill two baths simultaneously. More expensive to install but very efficiant. 1 degree heat loss during 24 hours on your cylinder.