Please help me identify my wall type - small cracks a problem?
Re-generate an old or tired space and give it a fresh breath of life. Click here for answers, information and tips

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
berlinhammer
Labourer
Labourer

Please help me identify my wall type - small cracks a problem?

by berlinhammer » Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:05 am

Hello

Newbie here with zero DIY experience and no money. I am a first time buyer of a very dated 80s build flat in the Barnet area. I have just stripped some vinyl wallpaper from one of the rooms to see what lies beneath, in the hope that it does not need any plastering that I can not afford. My hopeful plan is to patch the walls, remove the paint that was under the wallpaper (about 5-10% has flaked off with the paper), then repaint the room, no plastering/skimming.

The walls feel very solid and smooth which I am pleased about, the only slight concerns are that a few very small bits of wall surface have come away, a couple of bits from the walls and a couple from the ceiling, which I'm hoping will be easy to patch. In one of the corners there is also some fine cracking, I'm assuming from natural movement over time. Possibly slight damp as it's the corner near the window.

I've attached some pics of the areas I've mentioned. I'd be grateful for opinions on
a) please tell me what my walls consist of. I assume they are brick with some kind of internal rendering to give it the smooth consistent finish? i'd be very grateful if someone could arm me with the correct vocabulary to describe it.
b) any advice on my general plan (remove paper -> remove paint -> patch imperfections -> paint)? Is there a reason I can't do this? What will be the most painful part? (wallpaper stripping was not too bad).
c) are those corner cracks a serious looking problem? They don't seem too bad to me but is it a sign of something more sinister?