Radials or rings for electric ovens?


Postby Tezza100 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 9:24 pm

I'm installing a new kitchen and will be moving from gas to 2 new single electric ovens (3.65kw each) and an induction hob (7.2 kw) I only have one direct cooker feed (6mm wire) although I do have a new kitchen ring and an old unused ring available. My question is, can I get away with using the existing cooker feed for the hob & putting one cooker on the new ring and one on the old? I'm hoping for some practical rather than textbook advice as running new radial would be a real pain.
Tezza100
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:58 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby kbrownie » Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:48 pm

Tezza100,
I'd say you'd be able to run the two ovens of the same 6mm cable using a single cooker isolation switch, but your hob will need 6mm cable too and you can't put all three on same circuit. A radail circuit would be more senisable.
Won't offer any jargon but advise you call an electrician who is registered with domestic installers scheme.
KB
kbrownie
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:46 am

[quote="Tezza100"]I'm installing a new kitchen and will be moving from gas to 2 new single electric ovens (3.65kw each) and an induction hob (7.2 kw) I only have one direct cooker feed (6mm wire) although I do have a new kitchen ring and an old unused ring available. My question is, can I get away with using the existing cooker feed for the hob & putting one cooker on the new ring and one on the old? I'm hoping for some practical rather than textbook advice as running new radial would be a real pain.[/quote]

TEZZA100
get your part p electrcian to comment on your options.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
31.6%
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Postby Tezza100 » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:16 pm

Thanks for the feedback ;-) I'll probably move to plan B which is to use SMEG ovens which seem to be 13amp (probably just missing Pyrolytic cleaning) Part P or not it would break my heart to have to get an eletrician in just to connect some cookers.
Tezza100
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:58 pm

Postby moggy1968 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:13 pm

it may break your heart, but the laws the law, and you may be expected to provide evidence of conformity if you ever come to sell your house (which you will one day) or for any insurance company in the event of a claim, and problems with either of those really will break your heart!!
this work is notifiable, by law, because you are not doing a like for like replacement. Also built in cookers must have their own dedicated, appropriately rated, installed and certified circuit, and thats a radial, not a ring. under the requirements of standards circuits under the IEE regulations the only ring circuit permitted is a socket circuit, with 2.5mm T&E.
moggy1968
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
98.7%
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics