reinstating fire

Postby hazel » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:55 pm

Hi - I've had a gas fire removed from old Victorian house and now want to reinstate fireplace in order to install a wood burning stove. I know i need to have the cap removed from chimney and also the bricks used to accomodate the gas fire but do i need to have the chimney lined and if so why? Cheers - Hazel
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:48 pm


Simply Build It

Postby stuartrdesign » Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:44 pm

you may need to have the flu lined talk to the people who install the stove
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:37 pm

Postby TheDoctor4 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:08 pm

For up to 5 FREE quotes from trusted, vetted and insured tradesmen in your area visit the DIY Doctor Find a Tradesman page:
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 16777214
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:12 am
Location: Somerset in the UK in Shepton mallet

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by

  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


  • Related Topics