socket height above worktop


Postby rose » Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:49 pm

Is there any specific height that the electrical sockets have to be above the worktops in the kitchen? or is it personal choice.

thanks
rose
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
26.7%
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:03 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby kbrownie » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:20 am

Common sense applies, no regulations on heights but think about the purpose they are for and any possible harzards that can be caused by the appliance leads or appliance near by ie hobs burning flex cable, water hazards via sinks etc....
KB
kbrownie
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Postby rose » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:54 pm

[quote="kbrownie"]Common sense applies, no regulations on heights but think about the purpose they are for and any possible harzards that can be caused by the appliance leads or appliance near by ie hobs burning flex cable, water hazards via sinks etc....
KB[/quote]

thanks for your reply.
Do you know if a fridge/freezer needs an isolator switch? renovation of house and complete new wiring is being installed and the electrician says f/freezer needs isolator switch...aswell and the oven and built in mircrowave.
Are these new regs? hope you can help
rose
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
26.7%
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:03 pm

Postby kbrownie » Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:19 pm

If the units are intergrated(fixed in to units/cabinets); yes.

If they are free standing; no. But a good idea to have a means of isolation, because if you ever need to switch the appliance off you don't have to drag them from wall to pull the plug.

If the oven is over 2kw, I'd be putting it on it's own circuit with a CCU(Cooker control unit/Cooker isolator Switch)
kbrownie
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Postby rose » Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:37 am

[quote="kbrownie"]If the units are intergrated(fixed in to units/cabinets); yes.

If they are free standing; no. But a good idea to have a means of isolation, because if you ever need to switch the appliance off you don't have to drag them from wall to pull the plug.

If the oven is over 2kw, I'd be putting it on it's own circuit with a CCU(Cooker control unit/Cooker isolator Switch)[/quote]

thanks very much for your advice...
rose
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
26.7%
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:03 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics