Upstairs lighting


Postby korka » Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:48 pm

Hi, before i was going to change an old pull cord switch in my bathroom to replace with a new one, I unscrewed it from the ceiling to see if i needed any tape for new wire colours, I done this before switching the RCD off and the black (live to light from switch??) wire poped out, it didnt touch any other wire or anythig metal but it did pop, I isolated the power and have reconnected the wire, now however my landing light and small bedroom light work but my bathroom light and 2 main bedroom lights do not work. Please, does anyone know why?? :?
Thank you
Dan
korka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:41 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby kbrownie » Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:07 pm

Hi korka,
Have a look inside the ceiling roses for loose connection, i'd start in the bathroom as that is where it seems to have stemmed from. But check them all because if you have loop in circiut and a cables have come out off the terminals, it will stop power going to all the lights that are connected after that one.
Best of Luck
KB
kbrownie
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Postby korka » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:14 am

Thanks Kbrownie, I will have a look this morning and let you know, I hope thats all it is, she`ll kill me if we have another night without lights in the bathroom :D
korka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:41 pm

Postby korka » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:55 am

Hi again, I have checked all of the light switches and all of the ceiling roses for any loose connections and I was gutted to find out that they were all secure, not one loose wire. This has completely stumped me as I cant think of any other reason for it not to work?? When it all started, I pulled down the switch to look at the wires, and the black wire snapped at the switch leaving a bit in the socket and an exposed bit on the end of the cable, as it snapped there was a popping noise, I just presumed that the wire had come out and so isolated the power and tried to reinsert the wire to the switch. In doing this could it have tripped anything else, the rcd board shows everything normal???

Confused????????
korka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:41 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics