Wiring Landing Lights With Intermediate Switch
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
slimssis
Labourer
Labourer

Wiring Landing Lights With Intermediate Switch

by slimssis » Tue May 16, 2017 4:56 pm

Hi Guys

I'm a newbie who is at my wits end. Having been done over by numerous electricians im wondering if anyone can help.

I have three main landings and originally the electricain put 2 single switches on the upper two floors so that the landing lights can be turned on and off from either landing.

I am currently decorating and have changed the switches to double gang with one side intermediate and the other 2 way.

I rewired the top landing with the intermediate done in cross with blue and red wires and the other side done with the common top floor works fine, all three light switches work just fine.

Middle landing wired it the same way however it isnt working if the middle landing light is on i cant turn it off from the bottom landing.

does anyone have any ideas??????? im going to upload some pictures hope it helps as im about to pull my hair out......

thanks in advance ;-)
Attachments
top land.jpg
mid land.jpg

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Wiring Landing Lights With Intermediate Switch

by ericmark » Wed May 17, 2017 2:00 pm

Something missing, normally two way wiring you take the switch wires to one switch, to L1 and L2 then you take a triple and earth cable to next switch, which is wired like to like, the important wire is the com, if the other two are swapped it does not matter, as long as the com is correct, with an intermediate switch you simple consider the side where only one terminal used as the com.