80A MCB
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

11 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
robert_bullimore
Apprentice
Apprentice

80A MCB

by robert_bullimore » Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:47 pm

I like to think that i'm a competent and qualified electrician - but with no experience!!!!!
I'm Installing a Sub distribution board in my utility room for a kitchen extension. Connected to the main board by a 16mm Twin + Earth Cable. (Which i have calculated to be the correct size following the tables and formulas in BS7671)

I was planning to take the 16mm cable from an 80A MCB wich will be protected by one of the 30mA (80A) RCD's of the split load main distribution board.

My first problem is that 80A mcb's don't seem to be readlity avaliable from any major electrical outlet (or am i just not looking hard enough)
The largest i can find easily are 50A and 63A.

Also would a 100A DP isolator be acceptable in the sub board and will it require addtional RCD protection or is the RCD in the main board enough?

Thanks very much

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:43 pm

Hi,
Loads of points here,
First, you say you like to think you are 'competent & qualified' electrician, but with no experience!
I would suggest you read the top paragragh of page 22 of the red book!!

Now, sub board means a new circuit ie notifiable to building control first, unless you are 'part p ' registered, which clearly you are not.
If you wire the ring/sub main etc. no other electrician can issue test certs.
To the practical side, if you run the 16mm any way other than 'clipped - direct' its rating will be at best 63Amps which happens to match the largest size MCB available for a domestic consumer unit.
Any isolator larger than the supply MCB rating will suffice, and if coming from an existing RCD board then a second one is pointless, also the first one will usually trip first anyway.