Combi boiler...does it have to be a 'circuit'?
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
billybilly
Apprentice
Apprentice

Combi boiler...does it have to be a 'circuit'?

by billybilly » Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:44 pm

This is difficult to explain without a diagram, but here goes.

Does a central heating system with a combi boiler have to be a complete 'circuit', as in, if all thermostas were closed, water could still flow around the whole circuit.

OR......can I have one pipe for flow, one for return with the rads branched off at their various poitns. This would mean at the 'end of the line' as it were, the main pipes would be blanked off.

andy2510
Tradesman
Tradesman

by andy2510 » Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:54 pm

I'm not an engineer, but I was reading the installation instructions of my combi boiler not half an hour ago for a problem I have. Seems if you want thermostatic valves on all your radiators you'd need a bypass point (looking at the diagram given it looks like a joining pipe between the other 2) to make a circuit.

An engineer will know more though.

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:45 am

Normally and a simple solution for this - is fit TRV's (thermostatic radiator valves) to all radiators apart from one - normally the bathroom one or the radiator in the same room as the room thermostat would be fitted with normal radiator valves.

billybilly
Apprentice
Apprentice

by billybilly » Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:34 pm

Could I put TRV's on all radiators and then just connect up the flow and return pipes at the end of the line?

ericmark

by ericmark » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:58 pm

Read your boiler info some have bypass valves built in and since you want hot water to return to boiler fast if all radiator valves are closed normally fitted close to boiler.

billybilly
Apprentice
Apprentice

by billybilly » Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:43 am