Complete Newbie Considering a Major Project With Extension
Re-generate an old or tired space and give it a fresh breath of life. Click here for answers, information and tips

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
blitzgerat
Labourer
Labourer

Complete Newbie Considering a Major Project With Extension

by blitzgerat » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:38 am

Hello! This is my first post on this forum, recommended to me by a relative, and I'm also completely inexperienced at most of this stuff so bear with me!

My partner and I are considering purchasing a new house, with a view to living in it, which is a really good development opportunity and will be fantastic when it's renovated but which needs a lot of work doing to it.

The vendor has had architect's plans drawn up, which look great, and they have obtained planning permission, good until January 2022. The plans include not only some moderate internal modifications to the property but also the addition of a large, single-story extension to the rear and a small two-story extension to the front of the house.

We don't realistically know whether we can actually afford the cost of the renovation and building work, but we have got quite excited about the property so we haven't ruled anything out yet.

I wanted to ask a couple of questions.

Firstly, for people who have no experience of having any kind of building work carried out for them and no contacts in construction or any of the trades that we're likely to need, would you warn us off taking on such a major project?