Electrical Qualification Recognition of EEC certificate
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
JayElectrics
Labourer
Labourer

Electrical Qualification Recognition of EEC certificate

by JayElectrics » Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:07 pm

Can anyone help me?

I am an electrician qualified in Czech Republic with good knowledge of Wiring Regulations and great working skills. My problem begins with recognition of my certificate in the UK. Has anyone ever heard about recognition of EU (EEC) certificates in the UK? Any useful information would be much appreciated!!!

Anyway, I have already given up the above idea and I'm willing to re-take the exams in the UK but...
Would anyone please help me to post a list of things which I have to do to work as a self-employed electrician for repairs on someone else's house wiring?
I will need to know, if I have to undertake all of the following or just some:
- Part P exam :!:
- City Guilds 2381 (16 Edition) :?:
- City Guilds 2391 (Inspection & Testing) :?:

Please do not forget that I might need a little update of my knowledge (to meet the BS7671) and have limited amount of money...

Thank you all for any useful information!
(Btw. Thanks God for this forum! :wink: )

Jeffmo
Ganger
Ganger

exams

by Jeffmo » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:07 pm

Hi , i would take them all , just to be sure , there are many short courses you can take ie : technique training .com .Good luck Jeff

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:23 pm

Try asking the Joint Industrial Board (JIB) abt your qualifications , or the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE) now called IET. both have websites & help lines.
For most domestic work you will need Part P which is unique to U.K. but you can't get registered without the C& G's you named first Or possibly with your equivalents.