GREY areas -BC / NICEIC
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Sparkydelux
Tradesman
Tradesman

GREY areas -BC / NICEIC

by Sparkydelux » Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:51 pm

Hi,

I want to get on to a 'competent persons scheme' but there seems to be quite a few 'hoops' I need to jump through first.

I called NICEIC up the other day and asked to be registered. I got the impression from the guy that it wasn't just a straight forward sign up. I was told I have to have 2 jobs done so they can inspect etc. Well I am just starting out and helping a mate do his place to use this as a credit to my portfolio. Now I am employed by a company doing electrical installations but I can't use any of there work as my personal benefit and its been a desire of mine to work for myself -be my own boss.

I've got all the relevant certs: 17th, Test and inspect, Part P, and did all my training with a good college. I am pretty compenent with my electrical installations, so I think and I aspire to be the best I can.

I got my mate to notify BC of the works we wanted to do. New board, new supply (switch fuse), new circuits to extension and lights (fire rated D/Ls) but its looking like a whole new rewire. All the things BC would need to know about. My mate was told to get it tested by someone. but now I'm confused because I'll be testing it ALREADY. The only difference between me and the other guy is that he has paid £500 to sign stuff off.

My questions are:
If I am getting a portfolio together how do I go about getting myself ready for the NICEIC with out getting an un-neccessary 3rd party to check what I've done?

And if I'm not registered, what can /can't I do? I am aware what needs to be notified and what doesn't. If it requires notification and we have notified BC, do the work ourselves and test it and submit the certs to BC is this sufficient?

What do I do with the work I have already carried out?Stop?Decline the job?