Help with Repairing Flaky Paint in an En-Suite above Shower
Damp can be a major issue in the home. Find answers to questions or post your own here.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
DavidP932
Labourer
Labourer

Help with Repairing Flaky Paint in an En-Suite above Shower

by DavidP932 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:02 pm

First post so hello to all. I’m a novice at pretty much all things DIY so would really appreciate some help.

I had some flaky paint appearing in my en suite ceiling and decided to try and tackle it. The worst of it was over the shower itself while the other end of the ceiling, where the air flow is better, wasn't as affected.

I've removed as much of the paint as possible by scraping and sanding and am left half with paint/half without – please see photos.

So, if possible, I’d like some advice on how to repair the area that is clear of paint, prepare it and paint it.

Thanks.
Attachments
DSC00543a.jpg
DSC00541a.jpg

thedoctor

Re: Help with Repairing Flaky Paint in an En-Suite above Shower

by thedoctor » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:39 am

Thoroughly scrub with fungacide solution first, following rinsing instructions closely. Allow to dry, Then apply the following primer-binder which will ensure the area stays stable when painted again, preferably with the paint in the second link which is the only paint we will recommend for shower ceilings.

https://www.diydoctor.org.uk/DIY-superst ... litre.html

Good luck and do let us know how you get on

DavidP932
Labourer
Labourer

by DavidP932 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:23 pm

thedoctor wrote:Thoroughly scrub with fungacide solution first, following rinsing instructions closely. Allow to dry, Then apply the following primer-binder which will ensure the area stays stable when painted again, preferably with the paint in the second link which is the only paint we will recommend for shower ceilings.

Good luck and do let us know how you get on