how do I get a nice striaght line using a router
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
arches
Apprentice
Apprentice

how do I get a nice striaght line using a router

by arches » Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:52 pm

I have just purchased a router.I have never used one before and am looking for guidance on use. Basically,I want to route a channel behind 70x15mm chamfered and rounded mdf skirting to hide speaker cables.

I have the usual workmate type bench and tried on a waste piece,but even using the router guide,found it difficult to both grip the skirting tight enough using the bench grip and to channel out the groove staight using the bench edge. Any suggestions please!

property man
Apprentice
Apprentice

by property man » Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:03 pm

hire a router table

Perry525
Site Agent
Site Agent

w do I get a nice striaght line using a router

by Perry525 » Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:53 pm

Try the following, it works for me.
I fix the wood I intend to cut in my workmate.
Then I fix a straight edge, a piece of aly I use for plastering,. to the wood using a G cramp at each end, then I push the router along the aly guide, pressing the side of the router against the guide.
Result, a channel or shape as straight as the guide.

Oddbod
Ganger
Ganger

by Oddbod » Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:03 am

Hi, Perrys advice is good, as is property mans. Unfortunately in this case I suspect the skirting won't be wide enough to clamp a batten to it - which is a shame 'cos that is exactly what to do if you can!

What you are doing should work, so I suspect you just need to get used to it. The following tips might help.

Routers - even the small ones - are dangerous beasties. Treat them with respect! Until you have some experience keep BOTH hands on the router