New GU10 50W Spot lights Stop working Just After Putting in?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Ressull
Labourer
Labourer

New GU10 50W Spot lights Stop working Just After Putting in?

by Ressull » Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:22 pm

Hi, I'm a novice when it comes to electrics and looking for some help with a problem.

I have 9x spot lights (gu10 50w bulbs) in my living room that were installed around 2 years ago. I replaced 2 bulbs the other night and an hour later they all stopped working. It has not tripped the fuse and all other rooms on the same fuse are working ok. There is a 2 gang switch and a dimmer at the other end of the room.

I've tried removing all the bulbs and putting 1 new one in and also disconnecting the dimmer switch in case it was causing the issue but no luck.

Any suggestions what it could be?

Thanks
Russell

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: New GU10 50W Spot lights Stop working Just After Putting in?

by ericmark » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:59 am

Likely the dimmer switch, but not enough info to really say. However some pointers.

The Quartz bulb is designed so the quartz is so hot that the tungsten which migrates from the filament can't adhere to the quartz so it instead returns to the filament. Over time the filament will vary in thickness so will rupture. So quartz lamps should not be used with a dimming switch.

When a lamp blows normally the filament just parts but some times it can ionise the gas inside the bulb which then becomes conductive this causes a bright flash until the fuse or trip disconnects the circuit. The current flowing when this happens is only limited by the loop impedance of the circuit and can take out dimming switches specially if the wrong size fuse or MCB has been used.