New Lighting Circuit in Kitchen
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
laid_back_climber
Labourer
Labourer

New Lighting Circuit in Kitchen

by laid_back_climber » Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:41 pm

[size=18][color=olive]Have an 6 year old house so wiring done to latest standards. I would like to add a third lighting circuit to the kitchen. The intention is to add 4 wall lights of 60W each.

I have very little experience so don't know what I am doing wrong. All help appreciated:?

There is an existing 2 gang wall switch which I have replaced with a 3 gang for the extra circuit.

After installation

Circuit 1 - Ceiling light on 2 way works fine as before.
Circuit 2 - Different ceiling light 1 way works fine as before
Circuit 3 - New one installed by me. 4 Wall lights with 1 way but not working!

Tried to take a live feed from one of the other circuits within the switch to power the 3rd circuit. I will try and attach a picture.

When I check with screwdriver tester it shows power on and off as I turn the switch on and off. But the lights do not work.

I have tried taking the live feed to L1, L2 & COM and connecting the circuit 3 wiring to the remaining two connections. Still no lights.

What am I doing wrong ?

Not sure whether I can take live feed from the other circuits within the switch so would welcome guidance.[/color][/size][img][/img]

ericmark

by ericmark » Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:36 pm

1) A 6 year old house will be wired to 16th Edition we are now on to 17th Edition so not to latest standards.
2) In a Kitchen any wiring changes will need registering with LABC under Part P.
3) Neon testers do not require neutral connections to work.
4) Neutrals are not normally taken to the switches.
Most likely you have completely missed wiring in neutrals but this is probable just as well.