Newbie question on electric oven problem
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
wozza955
Labourer
Labourer

Newbie question on electric oven problem

Post by wozza955 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:35 pm

Evening all. Newbie here, who will happily buy a round of virtual beers for any help on this one....

I have recently (beginning of December) installed a new electric oven as a replacement for one that was a few years old, but wasn't installed by me. Apologies for the length of the post but I will try to give as much information as I can on the problem, hopefully someone will then be able to add some wisdom.

The new oven came with a flex already connected, which I then wired to the cooker connection plate under the worktop (I am reasonably competent with DIY/electrics). All has been working fine until yesterday when the oven was in use and it tripped the main circuit breaker. Now every time the oven is switched on and in use it runs ok for approx 1 minute then trips the main breaker again.

Some more detailed info:
- Oven is a Candy model FPP6071X, rating is shown as 2100W
- The cooker is on a separate circuit in the Consumer Unit, with a 32A MCB. The only appliance on the cooker circuit is the oven, the hob is gas
- Oven is wired to a connection plate under the worktop; I have checked the connections in this plate both from the oven and the switch above the worktop, all are connected correctly
- Switch above the worktop does not have a socket in it; I have checked the connections in the switch, all are connected correctly
- When the oven runs for approx 1 minute, the master breaker trips - not the MCB for the cooker circuit
- The master breaker appears to be an RCD double breaker (with test button)
- Electrical circuit and CU installation was all done at the time of the house being built, approx 17 years ago