Painting waxed interior doors
General decorating topics, questions and answers. find help, tips and advice on completing your decorating projects

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
janejigsaw
Labourer
Labourer

Painting waxed interior doors

Post by janejigsaw » Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:30 pm

I have recently bought some original Victorian doors which are lightly waxed. I would like to paint the doors white. Do I need to remove the wax before painting? If so, how? The doors are also heavily beaded around the panelling - how would I get the wax off of these areas? Any tips on the best way to paint them also? (i.e. do I need to sand, do I need an undercoat, should I use a brush or roller? etc..)

Please help (i'm a complete novice, so an idiots guide would be helpful!). Thanks very much.

prime decorators
Labourer
Labourer

Re: Painting waxed interior doors

Post by prime decorators » Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:57 pm

[quote="janejigsaw"]I have recently bought some original Victorian doors which are lightly waxed. I would like to paint the doors white. Do I need to remove the wax before painting? If so, how? The doors are also heavily beaded around the panelling - how would I get the wax off of these areas? Any tips on the best way to paint them also? (i.e. do I need to sand, do I need an undercoat, should I use a brush or roller? etc..)

Please help (i'm a complete novice, so an idiots guide would be helpful!). Thanks very much.[/quote] Hi, the best thing you can do is to have the doors dipped and stripped,otherwise you are facing a lot of hard work.There are quite a few dip and strip companies and they are very reasonable in price.Once this is done you can sand down and paint using a good quality undercoat first,remember decorating is all about preparation,good luck

pbp
Apprentice
Apprentice

painting waxed doors

Post by pbp » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:00 pm

I would not recommend to dip these doors which might have already been dipped in the past.