Qualified but know longer in the trade wanting Part P advice
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
cm
Labourer
Labourer

Qualified but know longer in the trade wanting Part P advice

Post by cm » Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:06 am

I was wondering if anyone out there can help me with my dilema.

In a past life I qualified as an electrician in 1984 gaining city & Guilds 3181 and 3182 part 1 & 2 in electical installation work. I believe now its C & G 2360 PT 1 & 2. I studied at 15th edition IEE regs, I then left this life style in 1993 after doing various contracting jobs mainly on the domestic side.

Last year for some unknown reason, I decided to go back to college and get my 16th Edition IEE regs. just to see if I could.

Anyway this is where I need advice, although I've kept my finger in the trade, just doing little jobs around the house or for relatives I am now going to put an extention on the house with another bathroom and bedroom and I am loathed to pay someone for work that I can do, basically a couple of lights, few extra sockets ect.

I was on the website of my local college and they have a course for domestic installation work, 15 or so weeks long, 1 day a week, something kitchen fitters etc do. Anyway as I was reading they also do a wedsite based course covering module 1 of this corse which I believe would give me Part P certification.

Does anyone out there know what is covered by this module 1 as I don't want to spend £90 on an exam without knowing what to study. Is it Health and Safety, IEE Regs or what

Also if I went ahead and done this module could I then just go ahead wire up my extention and get a local electrician to inspect and test my work inorder to satisfy building regs.