Question on Loft/Ceiling Extractor Fan for Damp
Information and advice on lofts and loft conversions. Find solutions and post your questions here...

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
NightShadow1991
Apprentice
Apprentice

Question on Loft/Ceiling Extractor Fan for Damp

Post by NightShadow1991 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:25 pm

Hi All,

New to this forum, just wanted to ask some advice on a ceiling extractor fan into the loft at the top of the stairs.

Private rented property. This was installed some time ago, maybe a year, or just over. Long story short, the house is a right hole and the estate are a nightmare to deal with.

The question I have though is as follows: Are these loft extractor fans safe to use if the loft insulation is exposed and not boarded properly? I only ask, as I'm a welder and have no knowledge on this stuff, but surely if it's circulating the naff, damp rancid air up in the loft - which also has a rubbish leaking roof - would it not be bad bringing that into the house? There is always a cold draft coming from there as it's constantly running, I can't see how it would stop micro particles of insulation and damp getting through, unless it had a decent filter in it, which I;d assume if it did would need replacing regularly?

Any, not my forte, so any help or advice greatly appreciated. Long history with the landlords, I am still fighting them to sort out some black mould in my bedroom, which has been going on for 3 years no. Two asthmatic individuals in the house, everyone coughs and splutters, history of mould and damp, none of which is helping any of us. Hence why I ask if it's safe.

Thanks all

James

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Question on Loft/Ceiling Extractor Fan for Damp

Post by stoneyboy » Sat Nov 14, 2020 6:08 pm

Hi nightshadow1991