Remove + add 3 new radiators in a bay. + speedfit or not.
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
el-d
Labourer
Labourer

Remove + add 3 new radiators in a bay. + speedfit or not.

Post by el-d » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Hi All,

I'm new to plumbing but consider myself an able DIY'er but wanted to check a few things first.

I am planning on removing a radiator in my living room and replacing it with 3 radiators that will fit under the bay window (yes angled/ curved would be better but much harder to get and more expensive).

I assume that they are connected as follows:

Incoming pipe - valve - rad1 - rad 2 - rad3 - thermostatic valve- outgoing pipe.

I assume that one thermostatic is all that is required. Would I need locking valves in between?

I've read about balancing rads, what is the best method fo r 3 in a row or do they really just count as a single rad?

So as a course of action, are my steps as follows.

1: shut boiler/CH off.
2: drain through tap on radiator ( can only see 1 or would there likely be a tap under the floorboards?)

3: Remove the old radiator
4: Fit /position brackets for new rads ( I guess this could be done 1st)
5: Fit new pipework
6: Cut old pipe and attach to new pipe for in and out.
7: Refill and check for leaks.

A few questions :

I assume Speedfit would be the best (although more expensive) route for me as a novice.
Does it require the cutting tool? They say not to use a hacksaw due to burring etc but can this not be sanded smooth? or can a stanley knife cut through ok?

How flexible is the plastic piping as far as connecting between rads ?based on the short distance that will be between each rad.

Any tips/hints/advice welcome.

Regards
Tim

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

Post by plumbbob » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:33 pm